Andrew’s Mars Bar Crispies

So it’s coming up to Christmas which means I start to get requests from the family what to bake when I come home. This isn’t a Christmas recipe at all, it just happens to be my brother-in-law’s all-time favourite thing I make. At every opportunity possible he asks for it – I think it might even make it into his Wedding Dessert Table! It makes me smile how the thing he likes most in the simplest thing in my “cookbook”! It shows that things don’t always have to have all the frills on to be considered a great recipe. I enjoy making it and I love how excited he gets. So for me these Mars Bar Cakes have become all about him and without fail whenever I make them I send him a photo! So this great recipe is dedicated to my Brother-in-Law…

They are best eaten on the day they are made but do last a few days in an air sealed container (well that’s if there are any left!). Now pop the kettle on and get baking!

img_20160124_133601Andrew’s Mars Bar Crispies –

Ingredients

7 Mars Bars

170g Butter

170g Rice Crispies

300g Milk Chocolate, Melted

Method

Line a L34.5 x W24.4 x D2cm baking tray. You can use a smaller one if you want them a little thicker. Cut the mars bars into small chunks and place into a saucepan with the butter. Melt on a low heat continually stir so that it doesn’t catch and burn. This is actually why my brother-in-law gets me to make them, my sister is too impatient and has burnt the mars bars on many occasions! So remember really slow and steady wins this race!

In a large mixing bowl, pour in the rice crispies and make a well in the middle. Pour in the melted mars bars mix. Using a metal spoon, mix it together until the rice crispies are completely coated. Spoon the mixture into the baking tray and lightly press it down, insuring you get it into the corners. While this is cooling, melt the chocolate until it is silky smooth with no lumps.This can be done either in the microwave in 30 second intervals or in a glass/heat proof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water ensuring the bowl does not touch the water. Pour the chocolate over the mars bar crispies. Leave to set before cutting into squares, either bit size or bigger if you’re feeling a little greedy.

One thought on “Andrew’s Mars Bar Crispies

Leave a Reply

