Meet me in the Morning – Yet another great cafe in Dublin 8

As you walk down Pleasants Street you can be forgiven for thinking img_20161002_110157that there was so no café and it was just a row of houses but keep an eye out for the A-Board outside! Head in and wait to be seated. I advise to try to get one upstairs, which has been newly done due to demand, if its cold out, people don’t seem to want to close the door when they come in. Neither do the staff for that matter! It’s bright with a large window at the front and gives that simplistic home feeling with about half a dozen tables downstairs. As I’m sure you worked out I didn’t go upstairs so can’t tell you what it’s like up there! Head over repetitively early if you’re hoping to have breakfast in, it gets pretty busy, especially at the weekend.
20161206_104104Order your coffee and peruse the menu, it changes depending on what’s in season. It’s relatively small but I think that’s brilliant! Why does a menu need to be massive, surely fewer options are better cooked and prepared than a massive menu where a lot of it will have been precooked or pre-packaged!?! Where possible they seem to use organic, Irish produce which is always good to see. I love when companies, big or small, support each other when they can.

 

The first time we went it was glorious sunshine making it super warm next to the window (perfect in my eyes!). I had pancakes, this year I seem to be obsessed with them, I think I’ve eaten more this year than I have in the past 5 years! I used to only have them on Shrove Tuesday, now it’s every time they are on the menu. They were almost like an apple crumble pancake and it was amazing, though not for those who don’t 20161203_102525like sweet treats. They were so filling which is great way to set yourself up for a day of walking! The Boy went for potato hash with two poached eggs. He didn’t share, which meant when I took my parents there recently I had to get it to see what it was like. Though this might have just been because the pancakes had been taken off the menu, devastated!! The Potato Hash I had was made with pumpkin, potato hash, TWO poached eggs and pickled onion. It was delicious! The two men, also had the potato hash, added salami to theirs for an extra €2.50 while my mother went for the “Gubbean Chorizo Hot Pot” – a spicy chorizo “stew” for want of a better word, with peppers, tomatoes and rustic bread! They were all beautifully presented which is always great to see, even when the place is busy the chef seems to take pride in each dish he makes. It’s safe to say we all completely cleared our bowls and were all stuffed after. They also have delicious looking baked goods on the counter, take one away if you’re going for a walk after!

I wouldn’t say it was super expensive, but it wasn’t cheap either…I guess what I mean is they had the pricing exactly right for what they are serving – good, well prepared Irish independent food. You can see the care in every aspect of the café, every detail seemed to have been thought about!

Meet Me in the Morning was a perfect start to my parents time over here in Dublin and it kept us going until well into the afternoon which is exactly what you need when you’re having a tour of Dublin by your daughter. By the end of their time here they were still saying this was their favourite breakfast spot, maybe even their favourite meal…

I highly recommend heading over here! And I know will definitely be heading back again…whether on my own or with more visitors!

 

 

Leave a Reply

