​Fade Street Social, Tapas Bar, Dublin

I heard a lot about Fade Street when I moved to Dublin. But before I go any further this is not one for those strapped for cash! I didn’t realise that it was all tapas, I thought the first page were mains so €13 didn’t seem too bad. Oh I was so wrong! Not just that they suggested 4-5 each. I think my jaw hit the floor, but ones you get over it (or you’re prepared for it!) just go for it, order what you want.

I went with my Dad and Step-mum and we decided to share lots of different things. This is definitely the way forward. It meant we all got a bit of everything. Some of them were a bit out there… these are just a few bits we went for –

Thinly sliced duck breast served pink with pickled kumquats,  orange dressing and handmade confit duck spring roll. Isn’t your mouth just watering just reading that! The spring roll was probably some of the best duck I’ve ever had in my life. I could have just eaten them over and over again.


The truffles hen egg was one of my favourites, not necessarily for the flavours, which don’t get me wrong was amazing, but for the presentation. It was so cute, and really well thought through. It even came with soldiers to dip in. It was dished up using the egg shell, and I loved the egg cup they serve it in. It didn’t really match the other dishes as some might think it was a t little tacky but it was right up my street!

Followed by a close second was the Chinese pork belly – this is slow cooked to perfection and comes with peanut brittle! Two of my favourite things. What’s not to love pork and peanuts.

Crispy airbags stuffed with truffle cheese wrapped in dried ham. Let’s be honest here, you would all order these out of pure curiosity. Something called crispy airbags, I just had to know what they were. There tasted nice, but to be honest, not really exciting. I wouldn’t get them again.

When ordering tapas I always get some sort of carby potato thing, I fear being hungry as I know sometimes they can be small portions. So here, we went for skinny fries with Parmesan and smoked bacon. They were delicious but totally unnecessary, we were so full from all the other dishes we hardly made a dent in them! And, well, we wanted to save room for dessert!!

Both my step-mum amd Dad have massive sweet teeth! So I was surprised when my dad said he didnt fancy anything! So even though we were stuffed, and everyone knows there is a dessert stomach for moments like this we ordered. My step-mum went for the dark and white chocolate mousse, hazelnut and orange confit which was served with toasted brioche while I went for the blackberry pavlova.  Once we ordered and they arrived, my dad promptly got a third spoon to help dig into ours. I have to say it was hard to share, it was absolutely Incredible!

The presentation of every dish was perfect! The chefs work so hard on everything and it pays off. I would highly recommend going. You can see them working away as the restaurant and kitchen are one room. I find it so hard to not just sit and watch them. As a big foodie I find it fascinating what others do in the kitchen.

One bit of advice when booking, in fact first bit of advice, book…ask for one of the tables. As much as I don’t mind the whole sharing a table with strangers thing I just feel when you are having a special meal it’s nicer to actually have your own space.

On arrival our table wasn’t actually ready but it worked out nicely as it meant we got to have drinks upstairs in the bar. Well we were meant to have drinks upstairs but the service upstairs was a little slow which meant we were heading downstairs before they arrived. Not great but it was still nice to see the bar. The drinks were also fabulous. I would probably go back here just for a couple of cocktails. Through maybe with a fair amount of time.

When ordering your food, remember that it comes out when it’s ready. You don’t have to order everything at once so you don’t have to worry about being full, or hungry keep ordering as and when you want more. It works well, except we did forget what we ordered so at one point we thought we had got our last dishes but two more arrived!

For me, as much as I loved it, it won’t become a regular place to go to…There was nothing wrong with it, in fact it was perfect. It was all very rich so I couldn’t eat it all the time even if I could afford it. But, for me, it unfortunately does come down to the fact I couldn’t afford it all the time. If you are feeling plush or celebrating something,  or deserve a treat (which I’m sure you all do!) Then I would highly recommend going.

3 thoughts on “​Fade Street Social, Tapas Bar, Dublin

  1. This sounds fabulous and enjoyed seeing the photos that you took. Now someone asked me where I want to go for my birthday – I may just choose here .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

